How to Get Married in Texas
Marriage License SummaryIssuing Office:
County ClerkCost:
$60-72Waiting Period:
3 DaysExpires in:
27 DaysLicense Return:
10 Days from Wedding

Applying for the Marriage License
Any unmarried man and woman, both at least 18 years old, can apply for a marriage license in Texas. Same sex marriages are not recognized.To apply for a marriage license the couple must appear together, at a County Clerk’s Office. This is the local government office that has jurisdiction over where the marriage will take place. Applicants must bring valid ID (driver’s license, birth certificate, etc.) to confirm their identities.

A Texas Marriage License has a 3 day waiting period before it can be completed, and is valid for 30 days.

It costs $60 – 72, depending on the county, to apply for the marriage license, but upon completion of a certified premarital education course, the fee is reduced.

Completing and Returning the Marriage License

On the wedding day, either preceding or following the ceremony, the couple must present their marriage license to the minister, who must make sure that the license is valid, and that the couple’s information is accurate.

The minister then signs the license, ensuring that it bears any necesarry witness signatures. Once completed, the minister or the couple must return the license to the County Clerk’s office within applicable deadlines.

Additional Resources
Marriage License Office Search
Texas Marriage Laws